Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

It is common knowledge that the world, together with its population, keeps growing day by day. At some time, a specific region becomes too densely populated, and it is called overpopulation. These days, it has occurred in urban areas and resulted in some detrimental consequences. This essay will mainly discuss these problems and propose some possible solutions to them.

Several social problems can arise from overpopulation. Pollution is the one that foremostly stands out. The more residents there are, the more people have private transport. It explains why people can easily find polluted air and loud noise in overpopulated areas, and it has negative impacts on human physical and mental health. Air contaminated with dirt, dust and exhaust fumes makes people suffer from respiratory diseases. Besides air pollution, when there are traffic congestions, time-consuming travelling is also annoying. In addition, noise pollution is disturbing to their private mental relaxation time. An additional issue is the rising cost of living and unemployment rate. The reason why this problem occurs lies in that there is only a limited amount of work in a region. More residents mean fewer opportunities of having a job, which also means that the difference in the living standard between the moneymakers and the unemployed expands. It creates a high rate of crime, and it, as well as the rising cost of living, makes life difficult and insecure for people.

Facing those problems, governments and individuals can reduce them with several strategies. The first thing to do is to enhance the overall quality and reliability of public transport. Governments can increase the number of bus routes, buy more buses and improve the staff's capability. It is advisable because it ensures people's belief in people. Besides, it is recommendable that taxes on petrol and car sale be imposed higher so that the growth of own car mobility will gradually decrease. Another sensible solution is to enforce new laws to restrict the immigration of people from small towns and the countryside. By doing this, the population density of different regions will be approximately even.

In conclusion, overpopulation cannot be denied to seem impossible to be fully eliminated. Nevertheless, there are still concrete steps to tackle it and make our society a better and more convenient place to live.