Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Urban cities are cited as hot spots for providing mammoth of job opportunities and necessary life amenities to the public, attracting a big percentage of the population. while people in rural areas live in a harmonious ambiance, the population of urban places has been facing not only the lack of affordable housing but also fed up from the polluted environment. It is high time to recapture the sense of harmony of urban life by working at individual and governmental levels.

Since more people are moving to cities, it is not uncommon to see that there is a scarcity of cheap dwelling places but also it is not surprising to find the roads blocked with vehicles. Firstly, owing to the less place to construct more houses in urban areas, the rents of buildings are increasing rapidly as the high-rise buildings of cities require exorbitant maintenance fees. Statics demonstrate that an inevitable result of overpopulation has increased the number of slum areas in the cities as compared to the countryside. In addition, the populace of cities has to live in a contaminated atmosphere. As more and more people are going to cities, the number of factories emitting poisonous liquids, and vehicles emitting hazardous gaseous pollution have been increasing relentlessly. As a consequence, the health of residents of cities is getting deteriorated day by day. To cite an example, people who live in cities suffer more from breathing-related diseases such as asthma, whereas due to fresh and pollution-free air in the countryside a negligible number of people have such problems.

These severe complications of overpopulation in cities have to tackle with war-footing measures on a number of levels. Firstly, government authorities need to take responsibility to provide all the facilities of cities in the rural areas, keeping most of the population out of city centers. By establishing new factories on the countryside, they could be able to provide employment to job seekers and thus not attracting unemployed people to move to the city center. Also, this strategy would diminish the pollution level in urban areas, which in turn lead to healthier citizens. Secondly, as responsible citizens, we ought to corporate with our government in tackling this issue by being contended with rural amenities and not to be in the rat race of luxurious city life. Also, individuals can lend unwavering support to the government by not shifting to cities with whole families. Only earning hand can go to the city to find employment by leaving the whole family back in the village.

As shown above, the strategies outlined above can do much to reverse the activities of overpopulation that threaten the city life, which has wreaked havoc by limiting affordable housing and enhancing environmental pollution. It is now time to address the situation. If we do not do this, we have to see city life becoming worse in the foreseeable future.