Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems

People from rural areas and small towns have always moved to bigger cities in search of better living conditions and employment. This trend is the main reason for rapid population growth that has caused several issues in modern cities. This essay will discuss problems associated with overpopulation and propose some viable solutions to it.

To begin with, one of the major difficulties that cities have to cope with is poor housing. The influx of newcomers to megapolises is an inevitable process nowadays, so there is an increased demand for accommodation. Obviously, migrants and local residents need quality housing, but the government cannot guarantee this amenity. This is because the houses are often built in the shortest possible time from poor quality materials. According to the statistics, only 13% of world's cities can provide citizens with affordable accommodation. Thus, a large number of middle- and low-income people live in run-down areas because dwellings in presentable residential areas are usually overpriced.

To tackle the above-mentioned issue, both governments and individuals are to undertake certain measures. Talking about the former, they should implement renovation programs that include demolition of substandard buildings and money allocation from the city budget for the construction of high-quality housing. The latter are also able to control this situation. For instance, they can put pressure on the authorities by signing up petitions or interacting with them directly. Thereby, thanks to a joint effort, the state and the residents will find a resolution to the issue of accommodation shortage.

To conclude, this essay has reviewed the problem related to overcrowding in urban areas and suggested possible solutions to it.