Language teachers should concentrate on giving positive feedback to students when they do good work, rather than on criticising bad work. Do you agree or disagree?

Teachers play a critical role in shaping students’ careers because they are responsible for their students in many ways. Some people claim that language teachers should mostly praise students for progress and not pay much attention to failures. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement. In this essay I will provide some arguments on support of my point of view.

Firstly, teachers should concentrate on success of the students in order to encourage them to learn languages. This method will set students up in a positive way and they will try their best to hear the words of praise. For example, if Alice gets an excellent result for the test and her teacher gives a positive feedback, next time she will try to repeat the success or even complete it better. We can see that praise strongly motivates students to study.

Another point to consider is that praise can build character. Positive feedback is not only used to praise students’ efforts, but is also an effective way to modify behavior. For instance, this way the teacher can establish contact with the student and avoid possible conflicts in the future. Moreover, this can help one to work with a child that is difficult to teach and attract them to study.