Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems.

What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

In the yesteryears, people were contented and in good health as they used to do exercises as well as give priority to their families, whereas today's generation is experiencing loneliness and health issues. This is predominantly caused by fast-paced lifestyles and changing cultural norms. To counter this problem, the governments and individuals ought to take collaborative measures at war-footing levels.

Firstly, the compiling reason behind this is contemporary living styles, where people have been working day and night to survive in a globalized and consumerist world. A primitive instance of this can be exemplified in their desire to collect more and more materialistic possessions, such as a brand new car, and modernized home in a city center, impelling them to spend most of their time on working rather than exercising. Furthermore, extreme changes in the pattern of close-knitted families to nuclear ones have been base precursors to the loneliness among today's people. On the contrary, our ancestors understood their true happiness in their health and family-relations by being satisfied with what they had and practiced exercised regularly.

To suggest some plausible alternatives, by establishing more parks, playgrounds, and social clubs, local authorities could not only foster community spirit but also enhance awareness of participation in the sports and in social events. However, it seems that real work has to be done on an individual level. They must inculcate themselves in some outdoor activities and start living with their family members. This way, they would feel active and develop camaraderie with other members, leading to their physical and mental well-being.

Following this look, although these new lifestyles and cultural aspects act as major catalysts for the deteriorated physical and mental health of the current generation, the above discussed strategies would be effective counters to this unfortunate trend. I thus hope that human intelligence and ingenuity continue to work towards making this possible.