Some people say that in the modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Though the proliferation usage of computer and smart phone have greatly improved office and study efficiency than the traditional way of writing work report or taking notes. As a time-honoured skill that have been inherited for hundreds of years, handwriting would continue to remain a great part in human civilization.

As all human inventions are experiencing the tendency of digitization, seems the way of generating text should not be an exception. Admittedly, academic improvement is fueled by the innovation of all kind of document-developing software such as office and latency, which significantly diminished misunderstanding of academic papers due to individualized handwriting and promoted worldwide transformation of knowledge since the digital material supports sharing and copying via the internet. Even with so many convenience, typing cannot replace handwriting due to the reasons shown following.

The modern way of communication would not render handwriting obsolete. As for those who disregard the importance of traditional way of recording events and believe the key-based typing could act as a good alternative for handwriting for the next generation, may be taken aback when a power failure occurs, as the modern technique we relied on for messages-sending and essay-developing could not serve anymore while the basic skilled we have learned since kindergarten continue act as powerful way to ensure catching up with work. Besides, handwriting, in many countries, are seen as a previous and elegant art form with many historical origin as well as profound knowledge attached to it. Abandoning it would definitely pose a formidable threaten to the already vulnerable minority civilization and decrease cultural diversity.

In conclusion, the old-fashion way of writing, critically, is inferior to its contemporary counterpart in many terms, while still deserves the future generation to inherit and utilize.