Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an old proverb that goes by the saying "Music is the sound of the soul. " Our world is separated by religions, cultures, geographical barriers, economic dividers to name a few but is united by the sound of music. I genuinely believe and fully agree to the fact that to attract people of different class, nationality, caste, age and religion music is the perfect magnet.

To start with, music is the universal language of expression of human emotions. A soulful music has the power to bring out the inner voice of a person. It has a ability to move souls and hearts like no other. Two completely different people of different nationality can connect, bond over and even befriend each other based on their love for Music. A perfect example to celebrate this is my nephew, Jay. While working in Manchester, he worked as a singer and a pianist in a music bar. This is where he met his lady love and future wife, Shazia. They met on a Saturday evening and bonded over their mutual love for Md. Rafi, Lata Mangeshkar, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Beatles and Freddy Mercury. After a dating each other for a couple of years, they got hitched in a private ceremony. Besides, Jay was a Hindu while Shazia, a practicing Muslim when they met. Their religious identities and age difference proved to be a non-barrier in their lives which was steadfastly bound by their love for music.

Additionally, musical sound is not created keeping in mind a particular age group or generation. It charms anyone and everyone from a eight-year old boy to a eighty year old grandpa. Music is one phenomenon that keeps an old heart fresh and brings two broken hearts closer to join them. For example, my grandfather was a very foul-mouthed person. He was a short-tempered man who in the fit of rage one day threw my dad out of his house as a punishment. My father, angered by this demeanor left the ancestral home to find shelter elsewhere. Both of them have been at loggerheads ever since. Last year, when my grandfather was seriously ill and he was brought to a hospital in Kolkata for check-up, I heard my father humming to an old Kishore Kumar song and a teary-eyed grandfather was listening to him. The father-son duo then wept and finally hugged each other signaling an end to the old feud. So, music again played the match-maker and peace broker here.

So, in a nutshell, music is the primal sound of nature that has a healing touch. It has a power to perform miracles and hence must be treasured.