Some people get into debt by buying they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent from having this problem?

In boxing, there is a very often used proverb "Do not punch above your weight." This statement cautions any incoming boxer to choose his opponent wisely, according to his stature not according to the surroundings. These words resonate pretty well with the crux of the topic. I believe that a person must not squander away his money and land into debt by buying unnecessary and unaffordable items. Such an action can invite unnecessary problems.

Many psychologists have tried to decipher the causes of such a behavior. After years of observation, they put forward a number of reasons as possible explanations. Firstly, with the advent of modern technology and online shopping platforms like Flipkart, Walmart and Amazon, the procedure of buying and selling items has become very easy and convenient. Unlike the yesteryears, the customers enjoy the privilege of paying their bills as annuities in form of EMI. This has drastically streamlined the shopping process. For example, now a middle class individual earning only $1500 pm can afford to buy a smartphone costing over $500 by paying only $100 per month. Besides, lucrative cash transaction offers these internet-based megastores often give high discounts for select period. A perfect example of this is end of season sale on Amazon at Christmas, where everything is sold at 50% off. This has caused a lot of customers to buy off necessary things with the hope that they might need it in future.

Secondly, due to liberal economic policies of the authorities like the Tax-cuts, have ensured a larger inflow of liquid cash right into the hands of the customers. These are the nouveau riche middle class, who aspires to rise above this barrier and enter the sphere of the elites. In their desperate bid to achieve this feat, these people buy unnecessary items in order to display them ostensibly and pretend to be an elitist.

Such actions inevitably do more harm than good. As a result of debt the family is unable to fulfill the basic needs and suffers miserably. To escape such a predicament it is advisable to utilize the hard-earned money judiciously. The best example to illustrate this will be to make a monthly budget detailing the income and basic expenditures of the family, for example electricity and cable bills. It will be better to save some for the future by keeping in a bank or by investing in stock market as it will keep the money rolling and will bring in returns. For example, an investment in mutual funds will help to raise the value for money.

So, in conclusion I want to say that to earn money is hard but spending it judiciously is harder. It needs a lot of planning and deliberation. If proper steps are not taken then there will be no difference between a pauper and a rich man.