Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent from having this problem?

We live in a materialistic world that so many people buy things that are not necessary for them, and they even can not pay for them, so they have to borrow funds from someone else. There are many motives behind this kind of behavior, and of course, there are many steps that can be taken to solve it.

There are different factors to blame for the consumerism which puts individuals in debt. Firstly, people from the dawn of time dreamed about having something, which was not anything vital for them but a guilty pleasure. Because of this, buying those things at any price gives the owner a satisfying feeling. Secondly, advertisements and salespersons can be persuasive and encourage the customers to buy something, that might block their logical sense, as a result, leave them with a huge unpayable bill. This behavior will cause individuals to fall into debts that they can not even afford to pay back, hence they will face bigger problems, for example, they have to drop out of school and work instead to earn that money and stay out of jail.

On the other hand, fortunately, there are practical and useful actions that can stop this issue from happening. To begin with, people can plan their monthly budget and force themselves to stick with it, so they can be more aware of what they really have to pay for, such as their food and bills, and how to spend their money. In addition, they have to work on their ability to say no to the advertisements. Furthermore, each person can put a portion of their income in the bank at the beginning of each month. In this way, it will not be easy to access the money, therefore they will only use it if it is really essential, and also they will have savings for the future.

In conclusion, although the problem of buying unnecessary stuff and needing a loan in order to pay for them is a serious issue, there are practical solutions for it and it can be solved.