Some people say that online learning is the most effective and some convenient way to learn.

Others say that online learning will never be as effective as learning at a real school, in person.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, we have seen a growing tendency for people to study online. Although I accept that e-learning has few disadvantages, I hold to the view that it is an excellent way of studying.

On the one hand, learning online seems to be less effective than the traditional classroom. First, it is an indisputable fact that students may find it difficult to concentrate on the lessons without the teacher’s presence because there is a range of disturbing factors from the surrounding environment to the computer itself. Second, it is generally agreed that it is much more difficult for learners to absorb knowledge sometimes, due to the lack of direct instructions from teachers. This drawback gets blamed for contributing to the high dropout rate of e-learning.

On the other hand, I would strongly argue that online studying is the most flexible and interesting way to gain knowledge. To begin with, learners are only required to spend 2 or 3 hours per day working on their online courses, so they can study when they are available, as long as they are capable of completing their assignments on time. Another benefit is that e-learning creates a lot of interaction between students and their instructors or their peers. On an online course, I have attended recently, for example, I have a weekly online meeting with my lecturers and classmates that allows me to discuss homework projects and have my questions answered clearly. This example illustrates how online learning can help students to learn better, as well as, give teachers with effective tools to keep track of their students.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against studying online, but I believe that we should take its advantages into consideration to give it a try especially in this digital era.