Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Today more and more people are learning a foreign language for different purposes such as work, travel, discovering a new culture etc. There are those who say that the purposes of learning a foreign language are limited, however others believe that they are not. In this essay i will discuss both sides of this issue and provide my overall opinion.

There are a wide range of purposes of a learning a new language. Perhaps, the main purpose of this phenomenon is working in another country. Unlike in the past, people today connected with each other and the world. They are aware of job opportunities in foreign countries and know better salaries in developed countries such as the UK, the USA and Germany. People who want to immigrate to work in a foreign country should learn the language spoken in the country. Another reason for learning foreign language is to discover a new culture. A good illustration of this is that explorers who want to discover domestic cultures. If an explorer wants to know and understand everything about culture of somewhere, he or she has to learn their language. Thus, he or she will be able to easily communicate with everyone who stay wherever he went and will know all things about the culture such as their foods, anniversaries, beliefs, jokes, litherature etc.

Despite these arguments, there are also people who say that purposes of learning a foreign language can not be limited. There are two main key arguments of this idea. The most important one is that people can want to just improve theirself to gain more wisdom. For example, people can want to learn foreign language for being just experienced about learning a new language. Secondly, a retired person has too much time to spend. As a result, he or she can want to try something which she or he has not tried yet such as learning French.

In conclusion, the issue of learning a foreign language has become a part of global world. Having considered both sides of the issue, i believe quite strongly that purposes of learning a new language are limited. There are no much variations, so the purposes are to travel, work or similar. Almost all of the people who learned a foreign language speak a foreign language in a foreign nation which they Works there or travelled to there. If people are in their own country, they will not speak a language without their mother tongue.