Some people say that we do not need printed newspaper any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the increasingly fast development of virtual network technology, on-line newspapers are enjoying a greater popularity among people than ever before. Some people think paper-based newspaper may be no longer required. From my own perspective, I firmly agree with the argument.

In my opinion, the paper-based newspapers have lost their readers due to the dispersion of distorted news to the public. This can be largely attributed to the factor that the facticity and reliability of the printed news are often manipulated by news companies and the political parties, which leads to the consequence that the news received by audiences are often omitted deliberately. If the content on printed newspaper lost its functionality of informing the truth to the public, it makes no sense that paper-based newspaper should exist anymore.

At the same time, compared with the electronic information carries inducting e-news and live-news, printed newspapers are more inferior in conveying urgent news in time. The report about the explosion of Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant gives a vivid example here. It was the on-line news report broadcasted the accident immediately to the world that helped to protect a considerable number of people from being infected with radiation related diseases such as blood cancer and sterility. As the traditional newspaper printers usually consume a long period on collecting information and printing newspaper, it never reacts as fast as on-line newspapers. Therefore, it is reasonable to believe the paper information carries will disappear in the future.

In conclusion, from my point of view. I am in support of the idea that traditional newspapers are no longer needed in people’s life.