Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most. Discuss both view and give your opinion

It is difficult to determine whether it is the content of the program or the length of time spending on TV has a more significant impact on youngsters. While the amount of time does affect children, it seems to me that what they watch influences their behaviour most.

On the one hand, the length of time watching television could negatively affect young people. Firstly, the longer the young keep their eyes glued to screens, the more likely it is for them to become addicted to watching TV. When children become over-reliant on this device, they might neglect engagement in outdoor activities. This could lead to a sedentary lifestyle, which is highly detrimental to their physical health. Secondly, watching TV too much can hinder the development of social skills. They hardly spend their free time interacting and communicating with other people, resulting in the loss of the ability to manage conflicts and build strong relationships.

On the other hand, I believe that it is the content that has the most marked influence on young people. The first reason is that inappropriate TV shows can have negative impact on children's behaviour. For example, if youngsters are exposed to violent acts, they have more tendency to develop violent behaviour. Consequently, the number of children who break the law would increase in the future. Furthermore, in our modern consumer society, commercials on TV aslo shape the way children behave. Young viewers can easily be swayed by captivating advertisements for junk food or video games and pester their parent to buy those goods impulsively.

In conclusion, while both factors have their own impacts, I believe that the content is more important. Thus, it is essential that parent control and aware of what children watch on TV.