Some people store personal and private information online including banking contacts and addresses Is it a positive or negative trend

Storing personal information online has been on the rise for years thanks to technological advances. While this trend can put the stored information at higher risks to cyber-crimes, I believe this development is positive.

On the one hand, updating confidential data like addresses online can be vulnerable to cyber-criminals. It is not uncommon these days that hackers create links, covered with attractive figures, to lure people to click on. As a result, they lose their accounts without their awareness and the stolen information can be exploited for illegal purposes like financial fraud. For instance, thousands of Facebook users in Vietnam have been blocked permanently because they clicked on an anonymous link to sever their curiosity about the latest scandal at that time.

On the other hand, I believe the aforementioned drawback is outweighed by the benefits this trend induces. Firstly, the storing of personal information online facilitates a superior experience for online shoppers. This is clearly exemplified when people shop on e-commerce applications like Lazada. Because their identity information has been synchronized with their sign-in accounts by the first registration, the time-consuming data entry can be reduced. Therefore, the cyber shopping process is expedited, promoting an overall convenient customer experience. The second benefit of this trend is to mitigate security risks. Because the information is frequently stored in the most advanced security systems, devised and developed by the top software companies on Earth like Google, crime-criminals have trouble perpetrating numerous protective layers to steal one’s private information without his or her permission.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that although people can face cyber activities, storing information online is beneficial overall considering the benefits mentioned above to people.