Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. It is a positive or negative trend?

In modern times, it is common that there have been increasing the internet services requiring their clients to disclose their own personal information such as locations, phone numbers, email addresses and even banking account numbers. In my opinion, these associated dangers are significant, but do not outweigh the benefits of a more convenient user experience.

On the one hand, concerned policymakers often argue that sensitive information registered online fosters widespread fraud. The majority of individuals store some degree of information whether it is as simple as their phone numbers and addresses or more important data such as barking details. Currently there have been the variety of methods used to stolen the aforementioned information. The criminal activities tend to phish emails, hack of websites, and even steal money from oversea bank accounts. It is true that these activities may lead unstable society. Furthermore, some companies have been reported because of selling their clients’ data. Customers’ information has become valuable commodities in the market, especially inside the telemarketing and digital marketing filed. Hence, clients may be disturbed by advertising phone calls and deceiving messages, making them offend and have a bad mood on that day.

On the other hand, the upside of posting private information on social networking sites should be overlooked. It is evident that the vast majority of individuals have decided to store personal information online regardless of growing cognizance of the risk. They find it easier to log in to a website, accept the cookies when they put their required information online. Especially, in the case of online market trading platforms and banking websites or app, consumers are willing to divulge more confidential information to enjoy the conveniences of conducting transactions faster. Additionally, in certain situation such as shopping online, when they intendedly place an order, the process only takes seconds to reach success that they do not need register their address many times.

In conclusion, giving away information to online services do not make a negative on the whole. Because it finds easier to access social networking sites and online services in some seconds. Besides, customers can experience more convenient.