To some people studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it is important to learn the past? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Many people believe that learning history might not have any importance in modern society. While others have an opposite view on this, the past is one of a part of the present because it contributes to the solid foundation of the present and gives right direction for the future. In my point of view, studying history is practical because it helps the young generation understand more about the ancestral struggle so that they respect the historical values and actively strive to build the country.

Building the future from the background shows the first importance of understanding history. Thanks to the knowledge of history, precious lessons of ancestors are valuable experiences for our descendants. For example, after the Resistance War against America, the combination of national strength and the right way to fight for victory was a worthwhile lesson learned from the war. Moreover, learning the history and traditional culture of the nation will introduce to the youth, which is the first step to build the country. For instance, if the students do not know the history of the country, they will become illogical politicians who do not recognize the essential demand and proper policy-making for the future of the country.

Identifying national identity is the second most important aspect of comprehending history. Through the lessons of history, familiarity with the cultures and traditions of the nation is clearly illustrated, thereby helping the next generation more proud of the historical country and recommend that pride to the pulse of the people around. For example, if a Vietnamese international student knows about his country's history, he can introduce to his friends about the traditional specificity such as patriotism, solidarity,…

In conclusion, for those reasons, history is the book of the future that helps students become more aware of the mission and the responsibility of constructing the country. Moreover, understanding of history that preserves the values of national identity for future generations.