Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of country is actually a development of technology. And with technological innovations and advances, more cutting-edge technologies will replace agriculture position, which change the proportion of a countries’ income. Therefore I disagree with the opinion that a country need to produce all the food for its citizens and limit its import on food.

On the one hand, people who advocate this point have their own reasons. Firstly, a powerful country need to satisfy their citizens’ requirement that cover the food, public facilities, social welfare and etc. Since food offer is a basic factor that influence people’s life, many people believe it is more safety for a country to develop its own food system and decrease the relying on other countries’ import. Moreover, limit food import can save government’s money so that more money could be used in improving education and medicine system which improve people’s life quality. Finally, decrease food importation also means more development chances for local food industry.

However, on the other hand, many agriculture production such as rice and corn are the important resource for industry. For example, the alcohol produce need loads of corn. Also some developing countries need to burn plants and produce electricity. Some countries, like Japan, have only little appropriate soil to grow plants, so they have to rely on food importation. To consider these conditions, many countries cannot rely on themselves. Another important thing is that some countries import rice and corn to produce alcohol and then sell it to other country to earn the money. So the food importation can also bring the benefit.

In conclusion, it also useful if governments spent money on food importation.