Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, few people have considered that adults should spend their spare time doing unpaid work because this brings advantages not only to society but also to each teenager. From my point of view, I disagree with this view.

We are living in an era of socialisation, which requires a large amount of knowledge from teenagers. Therefore, teenagers often spend so much time studying that even a small number of them don’t have break time. So, spare time is a luxurious and valuable thing in teenagers minds, and they have less time to be concerned with their health. Hence, they consider time to be money; they only spend free time to maintain their health, such as taking a rest and taking care of themselves instead of doing other things outside. They believe that if they don't have time for themselves, what can they do for unpaid work? To be honest, adults have no time for unpaid work; instead, they get a large number of excellent achievements in study that are also beneficial to society.

Saying so does not mean teenagers do not do unpaid work. Actually, schools generally organise many outdoor activities for unpaid work, including planting trees, cleaning up trash around campus, and volunteering for people who are in difficult circumstances. There is a problem that some people require adults to do one in their spare time, which is quite unnecessary because adults do it at school and they should spend valuable time more usefully on other essential things and many future plans.

To summarise, unpaid work is already done by teenagers at school, but doing more in their free time is quite redundant. Since they don't have much free time, let them do the things they want and love.