Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it should be mandatory for the young to engage in voluntary work to support those who are in need. While this practice may cause several problems relating to wasting valuable time and the exploitation of the young, the overall impact is tremendously positive.

The disadvantages of requiring young people to take part in unpaid jobs are in plain sight. The main reason is that these activities consume a great deal of time. Undoubtedly, they have to set aside their free time to learn about the procedures, regulations, and essential skills so that they can be qualified enough to provide aid to other people in their community. If it is obligatory for those whose schedules are hectic to join in voluntary activities, they would likely lack sufficient time for rest and relaxation, leading to some mental issues such as stress and depression. Second, young people can be taken advantage of by participating in voluntary activities. In fact, numerous for-profit organisations may exploit them to cater to their own benefits. For example, Thanh Cong, which is a Vietnamese food company, used to ask young participants to distribute flyers to raise public health awareness, but they actually contained advertising messages for their products with the aim of promoting their sales instead.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, the benefits of encouraging young people to help their fellow citizens are more significant. One of these is that it can enhance their moral development. This is because helping others enables young people to understand the predicaments of people in need, such as the disabled and the poor, and acknowledge their struggle to overcome difficulties, thus potentially becoming more empathetic citizens. Furthermore, this tendency is beneficial for the future careers of young people. To be more specific, recruiters nowadays appreciate candidates who take part in voluntary activities and contribute to their community since they are considered to have acquired hands-on experience as well as a spirit of dedication and responsibility. Consequently, they can gain better job opportunities as their resumes are filled with such work.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks to forcing young people to partake in charity work, such as wasting precious time and being taken advantage of, these are surpassed by the positives, including better morality and increased chances of employment. This is provided that schools and workplaces reduce the workload for young people so that they have enough time to join unpaid work to gain its benefits.