Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, with the development of society, the education system has been making progress significantly. It is said that subjects of students should be limited to which will be essential in the future such as science and technology while others believe that in university, students should have freedom of choosing what they like to study. In my opinion, I agree with the latter statement.

On the one hand, there are a lot of benefits brought about when students focus on studying subjects for the sake of the society. First and foremost, if they have to concentrate only on some types of subjects like biology, technology, math and so on, they will take effort to research them in maximum level which leading to the better results. Moreover, the increasing number of individuals studying such subjects can contribute to the fact that there is a great deal of workforce in such fields. With the numerous of people majoring in these fields, the productivity of researching will be improved. As a result, the contribution to the development of society will increase considerably.

One the other hand, students’ freedom of picking subjects to study have a great deal of advantages. The first factor to be mentioned is that people studying whatever they like can focus on their passion which motivate them to work harder. When individuals have ability to pursuit what they truly have talents for, they will develop in the best race. Additionally, this motivate them to take efforts to learn and research more and their future will be brighter. For example, when a student can learn music as what he is passionate about instead of other subjects, there are more likelihood that they can be a successful musician in the future. Another point, in this society, there are a lot of fields which play the same important role as science and technology and individuals studying other fields can contribute to the diversities of the society.

In conclusion, subjects related to technology and science are very essential, however, students have ability to choose what they wish to study can bring better consequence.