Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The declining trend in voters' turnout in the USA and other countries, has made many to wonder if it could be a good idea to introduce laws making voting a mandatory duty to all citizens. I think these laws help people feel part of their communities and could potentially help improve the quality of our elected leaders. As a result, I strongly agree with policies that look to force all people in voting age to cast their votes in the ballots.

To begin with, there are many countries who already have compulsory voting laws. this shows people are willing to accept the obligation to vote every few years. Furthermore, in many of these countries there also intermediate elections for local authorities and even referendums on big issues like increasing the number of public holidays or leaving the European Union. The act of having to vote forces people to inform themselves on the main issues of the community and increases their social engagement in it.

there is also a point related to efficiency and the - so-called - wisdom of the crowds. When a larger number of people support somebody to become their leader, there is a bigger chance this person is qualified to do a good job during its tenure. Without compulsory voting, fewer people get authorities elected and, therefore, they face less scrutiny than those elected by greater numbers of people.

However, it could be argued that the purpose of society is to foster individuals' freedoms and personal development. Under this point of view, forcing citizens to take part in elections would be an attack to those same liberties society should aim to promote. But can these liberties survive in a low turnout community? I think not because of the increased risk of authoritarian leaders becoming elected and using their positions to impose higher restrictions on the freedoms of their people. therefore, making compulsory voting a small price to pay for warranting our earned rights.

To sum everything up, compulsory voting laws help us protect the established democratic order and increase people engagement with their communities. And thus, they are policies that should be promoted everywhere to prevent the rise of authoritarian leaders that risk the liberal values of modern societies.