Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that that should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It could be one of the crucial challenges for students to decide which major could be more appropriate for them. Some people believe that the selected fields must be practical in the future. Others, including me, disagree with this claim and think it should be optional for them to opt the favorite major. In this essay, both sides of this view beside my opinion will be discussed.

On the one hand, nothing can be more powerful than human willing so university students as the scholar community in every society should have this right to select the major that they are interested in because having passion keep them to continue their studies. The experience-based evidences have shown that the most effective reason which encourages students to keep going until reaching their goals is neither easy field nor functional one, it is their enthusiasm that gives them energy to prevent them from surrendering.

On the other hand, predicting the future with regard to which subjects will be in a paramount placement, is complicated and no one could determine the exact answer for this. Therefore, the best approach is to consider all majors as the significant subjects and pay attention to them equally. However, nowadays, technology and science are one of the best topic, they may have not remained on the top in the coming years and it is unfair to neglect the importance of some others such as psychology and economic.

In conclusion, however we are living in modern era and technology has penetrated in every aspects of our life, my firmly conviction is that other topics are critical as much as technology and science, and also it is students’ privilege to decide in which ways, their lives can be built.