Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For some people, giving a right for the students to choose what to study is a worthy practice to maximize their knowledge and experience. In contrast, shaving track for the students can be more effective because it helps them to focus on the most practical lessons. In my view, there is no absolute answer to which way is better because each one has different benefit. The students need to balance between both styles in order to learn the most.

Firstly, typical children have more enthusiastic to learn about their favorite areas than the subjects that they have no interest in. The more willing to learn lead to the better results of studying, because the students will pay more attention to the class is interesting to them. For instance, one of my friend in university, who never appeared in the physics class, was always the first person who submitted the computer class assignments that he really keen on. Thus, the youths should determine their preference to learn because it will bring out the highest capacity that they could perform.

However, adults, who have more experience about the career and life, should act as a coach to manage young people to receive the most fruitful knowledge and get ready for the real world. As an adolescent, the student may cannot figure out the professional life as much as the grown-up person can. It is the teacher’s responsibility to guide the student what to learn, even though there are some tough subjects that is too hard for an average person to understand.

In conclusion, there are advantages in both ways of learning: allowing the students to choose their own lessons makes them learn better and giving the suitable guide can help them in their professions. The university students should attain both means so that they will get the most of their valuable time in the university.