Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that the university should focus more on the class and formal education and should spend more budgets on them. However, in my opinion, I believe that extra curriculum activities contribute as much benefit for students as the classes do. Then, beside the classes, the university should support the students’ activities such as sports and social activities in term of financial equally to other aspects. Those extra curriculum activities have many advantages, specially building teamwork skills, simulating real working experience, and reducing the stress from the classes.

First, sports and social activities can help student building the essential skill for work, such as working with team. In real working environment that the students have to face after the university, the students have to deal with people from various fields. Some people find it’s hard to handle the different opinions when they are in the professional working environment, which totally different from the university. The activities in the university’s club like sport club or social club prepares the students for the social diversity, because the clubs usually contains the people from more than one professions. For example, I attended the voluntary club when I was in the university. Some members from the faculty of art wanted to make the art project, but others wanted to do the teaching project. I and my team had to find the compromise way for all members, and then we had several meetings until we reach the consensus to the art teaching project. If I the university didn’t support the budget for the club, I wouldn’t get this valuable experience, which is very beneficial for work.

Secondly, the extra curriculum activities mimic the real working situation and shape the student to be more professional. Studying in the classes is essential, but it’s the passive activity. In contrast, working in the real life is very active. We have to attack several issues from several aspects in a day. For example, now I work as an engineer in a large corporate, I not only to deal with the engineering problems, but also to solve some employee issue or accounting problems. It reminds me when I was in the core team of the voluntary club as well. I had to control the project’s budgets in order to make sure that the money will be reasonable distribute to each department. It’s my first time dealing with accounting, which I’d never learn in the class before.

Third, spending time with friends outside the classroom can help student reduce the stress. Learning is consume a lot energy and we can easily feel exhaust from the eight-hour lecture classes. Others activities, especially playing sport, are the important part of studying, because they keep the balance for the students. Human need the balance, otherwise the body may crack down. For instance, my sister was worried a lot about her grades, so she put all of her time studying. Lately, I saw her depressed and tried. She talked to me about her miserable university life, because she has no friend and she disappoint with team project that she can’t get along with other team members. I suggested her to try some sport club at the university, so that she can interact with friends and relax. As a result, she’s now happy with her study and friends. Clearly, the sports and other activities are important for the students.

In conclusion, beside the classes, the university should support the extra curriculum activities in both facilities and money, because they are essential for the students to build teamwork skills, simulate real working experience, and reduce the stress. For the reasons explored above, I strongly feel that the activities outside the classes are important and should get the equal financial support as the classes do.