Some people think that art is essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Art is an important aspect of human life. This should be essential learning medium for children at school to appreciate art. But some people may say that learning art at school is just a waste of time. In this writing I will discuss both of these opinions and then present my own.

Art is an essential part of life. Art is the one that shaped our present through thousands of years. Art is an important subject that makes it possible for children to grow up as creative and sophisticated individuals with an appreciation for art. Art is a great way to shape children’s minds that facilititates cognitive learning and thinking process. Art can also help children to visualize the world in a different way, which in turn encourages innovation. Many of the history’s great personalities learned some kind of art as a child. For instance, Albert Einstein, the greatest Physicist of all time, used to play violin that learned at a very early age.

While art is greatly beneficial, for some people it is waste of time. And they have their reasons. At this modern age, many people view the contribution of art to the society as obsolete. According to them, children should be taught more practical subjects like science and technology, which is essential to cope with the time. Also, art does not readily show any kind of benefit which makes people believe that it is not worthwhile. Children too are more inclined towards other activities like sports, video games etc that discourages them from art.

To conclude, both concepts about art education have their logics. Comparing between them, I would say that art should be an important subject for children at school. People who see this as a waste of time do not completely realize the power of art.