Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the optimal method of making roads more secure is to raise the legal driving age. While this may work to a certain extent, I would argue that there are superior ways to curb traffic accidents.

It is understandable why some people advocate banning young people from driving. The key rationale in favor of this view is that young drivers tend to be reckless, which may result in accidents. Vietnam perfectly exemplifies this situation. Many Vietnamese youngsters disregard traffic laws and commit serious offences such as running red lights on a daily basis, contributing to the escalating rate of traffic-related injuries and casualties. Therefore, it seems sensible that this group of drivers be banned from the road.

However, I believe the aforementioned measure may be futile in the long run. As reckless driving occurs both among the old and the young, increasing the legal driving age may not be a holistic approach to the problem of accidents. Instead, governments should adopt more viable solutions to reduce accidents. One of these is to administer stricter punishments on people who violate traffic laws. For example, authorities could raise the fines on traffic offenders or suspend their driver’s license indefinitely. Another solution is to allocate more funding to improving road infrastructures. This is because accidents not only stem from bad driving but also subpar standards of roadways.

In conclusion, while there may be reasons to support increasing the legal age for driving cars and riding motorbikes, I believe that the proposed solutions would be better in boosting road safety.