Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, many people have to travel a long distance to their workplace. Some who find it uncomfortable propose to remove parks and gardens surrounding the city center and build apartment buildings for employees instead; however, there are also some opponents of that idea. In this essay, I will attempt to justify both viewpoints as well as provide my perspective that totally supports the former.

On the one hand, the construction of new apartments helps people feel comfortable in terms of the traffic congestion. Firstly, when people have to travel a long distance to work, they may use means of transportations such as cars and motorcycles. This phenomenon may lead to traffic congestion that may deter the workers from getting to their workplace on time.However, if those people can live near their workplace, they tend to cycle or just walk to work that might reduce the transaction of large numbers of vehicles.

On the other hand, some city dwellers want to retain the gardens and parks because those are the places that bring amusement to them. Moreover, many trees and flowers in the parks, gardens might make the city more attractive and help to absorb carbon dioxide and produce oxygen. That is to say, it may help to maintain the moderate temperature in the city. What is more, gardens and parks can be ideal places when people long for a refreshing breeze after a strenuous day of work.

All in all, the replacement of the gardens and parks are essential for us to build more apartments. Although both practices bring about certain advantages, turning green spaces into buildings for workers is certainly more beneficial.