Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that lawbreakers should undertake community service without salaries in lieu of being imprisoned. Personally, I completely dissent with this statement for certain reasons which will be explained in this essay.

To commence with, one evident explanation of why social work can not replace the role of prison is somewhat related to education, deterrence, retribution, and rehabilitation. In fact, it should be a part of criminal justice systems, raising a sense of serving society as a way of paying a debt for wrongdoings. For example, low-risk prisoners can engage in physical jobs such as cleaning the street, washing vehicles, and so on. However, that provides them and people being prone to break the law neither morality lessons nor a particular direction for future except for continuing committing a crime. Therefore, if government substitutes community work for putting in jail, the rate of crime can be more dramatic.

In addition, another underlying factor to take under advisement is not to ensure the long-term better protection for society. To be more detailed, supposing that wrongdoers just need work free for the community with no strict supervision of the police in the rest time, local residents rarely have peace in mind when they stand a chance to impair local safety anytime. In my opinion, in terms of petty criminals and youth crimes, they shoud be sent to reform camps with the aim of reeducation and vocational training. Moreover, if offenders do rehabilitation programs well, the time in jail can go down basing on attitude and minor or serious crime. Thus, incarceration is the most effective control method to deter offenses.

In conclusion, although it is indisputable that community work programs assist in their rehabilitation, I totally assert that the other aforementioned elements are more significant to prevent crimes.