Some people think that childcare centers provide the best services for children of preschool age. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better carers for their kids. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, families with both working parents are becoming a norm, so the responsibility of child-rearing often falls on the shoulders of grandparents or day care services. Many people think the facilities and the professionally trained personnel that childcare centers offer are the best option, while others prefer the nurturing nature of grandparents. I assert that the latter is the better choice.

Childcare services are professional in taking care of children and can provide them with a suitable environment for their development. These centers are usually equipped with facilities such as playgrounds, labs and gardens that allow their young clients to learn about the natural world as well as engage in a range of physical and intellectual activities. The exposure to principle knowledge and activities could help the children to develop their characters and physical well-being thereby helping them prepare for the world. While they partake in said activities, their essential needs are taken care of by professional caregivers who are experts in child psychology and various pedagogical methods. By and large, the facilities and services provided by such centers are often thought to be better compared to amenities at home.

On the other hand, I would argue that it is better to let a child be taken care of by their grandparents. The key objective of child-rearing is to assure the children of a place of total safety to grow and learn. Grandparents could usually provide undivided attention for their grandchildren. Besides accommodating the essential needs, grandparents could also watch out for potentially dangerous situations in which the children may injure themselves. In contrast, the sheer numbers of children at a childcare center makes it difficult for the caregivers to monitor every child at any given time. Staying at home also shells the children away from being bullied by their aggressive peers. Therefore, while lacking certain facilities and services, staying with one’s grandparents is the better option.

In conclusion, childcare centers are best at providing facilities and services that, in theory, would allow the children to develop to their full potentials whereas they cannot match the safety at home or the individual care grandparents could accommodate. For these reasons, I think that grandparents are better caretakers for preschool-children.