Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, crime has been a topic of great concern in our societies. One school of thought holds that once governments extend the imprisonment period, the number of offenders will gradually drop out. In my own point of view, I would agree with this punitive system.

On the one hand, there exist a couple of beneficial effects in terms of long-period imprisonment. First and foremost, longer imprisonment could be considered as an effective deterrent and bring a preventative value, compared to other crime-fighting solutions. In other words, it can deter premeditated criminal acts by some people in the public who have intention to carry a crime. Furthermore, staying in a separated space over a long period provides prisoners with an appropriate opportunity to ponder over their trauma they caused to their victims. Therefore, after being released, they could live a prevalent life with more positive attitude.

On the other hand, the significance of rehabilitation should not be neglected. Apparently, the fact that owning to the cut-throat competition in today’s world, a great many people find themselves under immense pressure of financial deficit is the major culprit of fraud or deception. It is believed that training a manual skill allows wrongdoers to earn money when returning to society. When they can pay their own bills, the rate of crime will absolutely decline. Additionally, it is of great importance that death penalty should be applied for particular hazardous criminals as serial killer or rapist because only this strictest sentence could discourage people from doing such those evil crimes without thinking about the consequences.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that longer time imprisonment could bring some positive effects on cutting down the crime rate. However, other measures as education or capital execution are also required to tackle this problem.