Some people think that the government should change the way individuals live, while others believe that they should choose the way themselves. Discuss these both points of view and give your opinion.

In this day and age, one school of thought holds that governments should take responsibility for supporting people to change their lifestyle. Meanwhile, some commentators contend that in terms of how residents live, their personal awareness should be taken into consideration. In this essay, I will be discussing both views and giving my own opinions.

To begin with, it is only policymakers that have enough budget and influence to change one whole society. Like for instance, in order to degrade the number of obesity patients, which has climbed up because of junk food overconsumption, the government could impose high tax on every convenient food companies, which makes the price of those products higher than other healthier ones. Apparently, the abnormal considerable price encourages more and more consumers to abdicate their habit of eating convenient food. In addition, they also subsidize money for installing more sport facilities in public parks, which supports people to do more physical exercises. As a result, a hazardous social habit as living a sedentary life has gradually vanished.

On the other hand, the most prominent prerequisite for each person to become better is their self-cognition. In more specific, people with conservative attitude still can be on their own way and absolutely neglect the government’s efforts. Taking the mentioned campaigns for example, there still exists many customers who eat the harmful food regardless of its high price and detrimental consequences. Or the vast majority of people have inclined to navigate the Internet on cell phone in lieu of using stationery bike or treadmill provided.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that better lifestyle of citizens requires a strict cooperation between governments and themselves.