Some people think that families have the most powerful influence on a child’s development, while others think that other factors such as televisions, friends, music, etc have the biggest effects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Without a doubt, children’s personal development is factored in by a host of aspects surrounding them. However, the question of which factor has the most impact on children has been a topic of debate. While a school of thought holds that the process of kids’ development is affected most by their families, others claim that something like televisions, friends, or music are the main aspects playing the most important role in the growth of children. Personally, I side with the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some endorse the former view. The key rationale is that parents are always responsible for educating and caring for their offspring. In fact, if children are not taken care of, this may lead to the fact that they could become depressed and isolated in the process of growing because of the lack of affection from their parents. Furthermore, children would not know how to distinguish what is right or wrong in life and may behave unsuitably if they are not educated by their parents. For example, in light of the lack of parental care and supervision, no small number of children in Vietnam have become involved in criminal gangs, thereby going astray into the criminal paths. This is a testament to how the responsibilities of parents play an essential role in children’s development.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why some people advocate the latter view. The first reason is that a child’s personality can be changed by other factors like teachers, friends, and so on. For instance, a kid raised in disciplined families could become undisciplined if they play with peers who are harmful. Another reason is that television can cause some bad habits and behavior in children. In fact, although some children are educated by their families, they still take part in illegal acts like buying drugs or racing due to the fact that they watch too many violent films or unsuitable programs. Therefore, It seems reasonable why other factors can affect the process of developing in children.

In conclusion, while there are some justifications for claiming that families make a significant contribution to the development of children, I believe that other factors like friends, television, etc. are of no less involvement.