The government should invest more money in teaching science than in other subjects for a country’s development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the investment of governments has become a broad issue to the general public. A school of thoughts believes that the funding of the government should be spent more on teaching science than non-scientific subjects to help countries to develop and progress. I am of the opinion that investing in educating science-related fields is necessary but some extra subjects are of no less importance.

On the one hand, it is understandable why teaching science should be financially supported more by the government. The main reason is that science plays an important role in any nation’s progress and development. If science does not exist, definitely scientific advances can not be created. As a result, a nation will not never innovate or evolve and become backward. Another reason is that scientific breakthroughs help a nation to strengthen its position on the global stage. According to the BBC news, the most powerful countries around the world spend a much larger amount of their national budgets on science than the others.

On the other hand, it seems to be not wise when underestimating the significance of other subjects. The key rationale is that other subjects like art, literature, language also provide a wide range of useful skills. For example, By studying art subjects, people would have a chance to develop creative thinking that is an essential skill for any successes or development. Additionally, If sciences receive more government financial support, other subjects would have to face insufficient funding. A nation could not achieve sustainable growth if other areas such as history are less developed.

In conclusion, although science is the first priority for any investment of the government to help progress and develop a nation’s economy. It seems to me that apart from the budget for teaching science, a suitable amount of money should be spent on non-science subjects.