In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

It is true that in some schools and universities, there is a difference in relation to subjects between the girls who tend to learn arts and the boys who often enroll in science classes. This tendency can be attributed to several reasons which will be further explained in the following paragraphs. From my perspective, this trend should stay unchanged.

The aforementioned tendency can be attributable to two main reasons. The preliminary reason is the personality of each gender. To be more specific, the girls are easily attracted by the subjects requiring carefulness and patience like arts. In contrast, the boys tend to be interested in the science subjects relating to calculation or analytical abilities. Another reason for this stance is the competence of each kid. To clarify, children tend to show exellent performance at their favourite subjects. That is why the girls and the boys enroll in classes about the subjects that those children are good at.

From my point of view, the difference in choosing the subjects between boys and girls should not be changed for some reasons. Firstly, if children are forced to learn a subject that they don’t want, resentment will be created inside children. Therefore, children tend to do something against the expectation of their parents, which will lead to some bad consequences. Another reason is the freedom of choices. To be more specific, parents as well as teacers should let children themselves choose the subjects that they want to learn. Furthermore, children’s decisions should be listened to and respected.

To recapitulate, personality and competence are two main reasons for this tendency and I myself hold a strong belief that this trend should be unchanged because as far as I am concerned, children should be entitled to decide which subjects they want to learn.