Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, genetic engineers have generated many fruits and vegetables or flowers in different sizes and colours. Despite the fact that the variety that such crops have given to agricultural productions, some experts believe that they could be potentially harmful for body. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides of this issue and last of all I will bring my own opinion.

According to some experts, any change in natural products should be completely banned. Their main reason to this is that, these products could have side effects that cause cell destruction and will put the health of body and mind at risk. For example, in 2012 one sort of genetically modified rice in Brazil found that includes a typical resistance bacterium that produces a poisonous substance which is potentially harmful for mental activities. Based on a research that WHO, conducted in 2014, it revealed that almost 36 percent of genetically modified crops, in Latin America, involved poisonous substances.

Admittedly, thanks to new developments in agricultural biotechnology, it seems that the shortage of food resources will have a noticeable reduction in coming years. For instance in Canada in 2015, specialists achieved a new method, which by it, the size of watermelons has an eye-catching increase. One of the merits of this technique is that, it can be used in some developing countries such as Sudan and Nigeria which people suffer from starvation.

In the light of these facts, one can conclude that there are both merits and demerits with this subject of study. Although, it is my strong belief that, on account of the vast needs of people for sufficient food resources throughout the world and lack of it, using of these new biotechnical techniques is a must.