Some People think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that the government should prevent crimes, while others think each person should be responsible for protecting her/himself against offenses. There are rational arguments on both sides of this topic, which will be discussed in detail, followed by my opinion on the matter.

On the one hand, some people feel that every one of us should take care of our safety as the government securities organizations cannot be present in every breeding ground for crimes. For instance, police cannot deter every incident, such as shoplifting, which could occur everywhere all the time. Hence, it is the responsibility of the shop owners to take preventive measures such as installing an alarm or cameras in their shop. Also, if customers take care of their belongings, pick pocketing will not happen during shopping. Thus, it is evident that each individual has a responsibility to ensure their safety.

On the other hand, there is a limit to what a person can do on their own. In this respect, only governments can enforce strict laws to keep the crime rate in check. Stringent laws will act as an obstacle and reduce the crime rate to a great extent. For example, in the Arabic countries, some harsh punishments such as long period imprisonment or even the death penalty for every offense are prescribed. As a result, people do not dare to break the laws, and the crime rate is much less than in other areas. Hence, the state has to own up to responsibility and enforce strict rules that will discourage people from committing crimes.

In conclusion, there are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy; however, it is my firm conviction that it is the responsibility of the government to arrest criminal activities through enact stringent laws.