Some people think that the government wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Ancient art and culture resemble the country’s history and heritage. It is often argued by some people that government must not spend money in encouraging culture, art, and traditions. While others are of the opinion that it is advantageous for the society. However, it is important for a nation to protect their culture. So, in my opinion, the government should support art and cultural activities.

To begin with, for any country there are many concerns about poverty, health care, and education which are to be solved on priority. So, the government should focus more on activities which benefit the public rather than funding for arts and cultures. India, for example, has 1000’s of citizens who die of hunger each day. Authorities should take necessary action against this starvation. Besides this, Education is the basic right that government needs to provide to the children. It helps societies run smoothly. Next, Population health is also crucial for a country, free medical check-ups for women and children are to be provided by the governments. Hence, after allocating enough budgets to education, health, and food, the government can redirect the remaining funds to promote arts and culture.

On the other hand, culture and art signify the traditions and practices of a country. They contribute to the growth of the economy and generate revenue in several ways like tourism. For instance, there are several ancient monuments in India like 1000 pillars temple in Warangal which attract visitors and money gained from tourists can be used to develop infrastructures like news roads and airports. It reveals the history and can be preserved as a treasure for future generations. So, there is a need to safeguard arts and cultural activities by the government.

In conclusion, there are several essential problems for the government to be dealt like education, health, and hunger, government-funding must be done more in this direction, and in my opinion, it is more beneficial to concentrate on public benefits instead of arts and culture.