Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

While modern art by famous artists are venerated and their pieces each sold can fetch a phenomenal price, people still do not understand or are not able to appreciate enough.The government should invest in institutions providing knowledge in the realm of art, as it forms the backbone of any indigenous culture.

Museums hold a plethora of artistic collections, and are known to be famous tourists attractions and tourists are important to the economy of a nation. Take for example, countries such as Dubai and UAE thrive on tourism as their main source of income. Furthermore, famous art can attract a global audience and it can be placed in art exhibits held around the globe. Also, art exhibits hold auctions where artists can sell their paintings and sculptures, which acts as a source of income and as these artists are taxpaying citizens, they are able to contribute to their own country's economy.

The rich culture and heritage of any country can be seen and experienced through it's various forms of art.Take for example Aztecs, who made spectacular totems with human alike faces engraved on them, are today the only remaining proof of their creators.Moreover, pyramids in Egypt not only hold graves of the dead pharaohs but they also hold ancient hieroglyphs which conveys their whole culture in the form of artistic drawings. Sometimes, many classical paintings have information of the past events such as war, plagues and riots.These artistic creations conveyed even more of the events than any scripture or text could elaborate upon on.

In essence, the government should contribute in the field of art, not only for the economic advantages they provide but also for preserving the culture and heritage. The government should not expect immediate returns on investment and have an open minded approach. Because in the end, each artistic piece is a projection of our culture.