Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the

country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Whether a country should host international sports events is a controversial point in arguments. While some people think that it is not necessary, I agree with those who believe the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, the catastrophe that those events make to the country is undeniable. The volume of traffic will definitely increase during the event, therefore having an impact on the environment. Trashes can be seen everywhere after the crowd leaves, and much more resources will be needed to tidy up the mess. Furthermore, the funding spent on those events is surprisingly huge. Despite the earnings of hotels, restaurants and resorts, that amount of money will inevitably make the government curb the spending on social welfares to invest on the field.

On the other hand, the event is a stimulus for sports investment and promotion. Seeing the athletes setting new records and breaking their limits motivates youngsters to take up sports, with the inspiration of emulating their heroes. The economy is also benefited, too. The enormous revenue from souvenirs, tours and sports tickets, which comes from the influx of foreign sports fan all over the world, can be utilized to other sources, such as sports funding, social welfares and schooling.

Altogether, worldwide sports events has their own disadvantages, but the merits made by them can compensate the damage. Events will definitely be larger and larger in the future.