Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programs. Others think that it is better to produce these locally.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

The idea of importing foreign movies and TV programs is a debate the first side of which advices that doing so is beneficial to a country’s culture ; however, the second side insists on producing domestic TV broadcasts. While Buying movies from other nations can have some advantages, I would agree with the latter view.

Those who support the notion of purchasing movies from other countries cite that this can bring some benefits.

Firstly, by exposing its citizens to movies produced overseas, a country would seem to become more civilized. This is because the residents can learn about culture and custom of other nations more effectively by means of watching such movies. Secondly, indigenous movies and shows can be the optimal sources for those who want to expand their non-native language. To demonstrate, it has been proven that watching Friends series, an American television sitcom, is an effective way to not only practice english language, but also boost english vocabularies.

On the other side of this debate, the proponents of domestically produced movies assert that these kinds of programs are more essential for societies. The most compelling reason for their assertion is that movies made by local people would help preserve the traditions and customs of their own cultures. For instance, many Iranian Tv programmes remind young generations how people celebrate Nowruz, which is the most significant public holiday in some Asian countries. If young people only watch foreign movies, the traditional values might be gradually forgotten. I agree with this view as the cultural values which identify the people’s nationality is an integral part of any society.

In conclusion, with respect to the controversy over whether it is advisable that countries import foreign movies or not, despite some advantages bringing to the importer society, the former seems to be debunked. This is due to the possibility of the cultural extinction