Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. Other people think that taking part in individual sports like tennis or swimming is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about what kind of sports would be most beneficial to play. While many argue that individual sports are far more outweighed by team sports, I believe that both kinds of sports have an equally important role to play in human development.

There are obvious advantages that team sports bring to each member. Firstly, due to its nature and characteristics, team sports give players opportunities to develop skills for working in a team. Indeed, to defeat any certain opponent, sports players must work together and all personal interests are sacrificed for the sake of achieving a more important team goal. Secondly, through regular interaction and conversation with other team’s members, individuals can hone their social and communication skills which will largely benefit them when they enter into the working environment later in their life. Also, more importantly, these social interactions are needed to reduce stress and the possibility of developing depression among those leading a busy life in particular.

Many people, however, opt for participating in individual sports due to a greater sense of personal achievement it could offer. It is true that being recognized by others is one of the wonderful and fascinating achievements that humans have longed for and this could be gained through playing individual sports. Sports like tennis or swimming give individuals a chance to exhibit their talents as well as becoming a credit for their schools and family when achieving a gold medal or establishing a new world record. Furthermore, playing sport individually also allows people to develop good traits and characteristics. For example, through practicing basketball, players can learn the values of focusing and concentration on a particular goal if they wish to reach it in their lives.

In conclusion, sports at all have a positive impact on human physical and mental development. People should be encouraged to do any kind of sports as long as it suits their causes and their physical conditions.