Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

It is argued that the government should pour money on developing roads and motorways rather than into public transport systems. In my view, I think both roads and public transport systems play a vital role in modern society, and thus, they should be received equal amounts of investment.

On the one hand, better quality roads offer great benefits increasing the level of safety and traffic jams. In many cities and provinces in VietNam reported that the number of road accidents is ever climbing due to the condition of road's surface. This is evidence that the government should expenditure money on improving the quality of road systems in order to ensure the safety of people. Additionally, construction wider road and more motorways contribute to reducing traffic congestion in cities with large populations, such as Ho Chi Minh city, where traffic obstruction is still a major problem, will help to raise the space for a larger number of vehicles, hence lessening pressure on the city's main roads.

On the other hand, nowadays, environmental pollution more and more is an urgent matter. More countries in the world are applying many methods to protect the atmosphere and one of them is to encourage people to use public transport systems instead of private vehicles. Improving the bus, train, and underground systems not only decrease the amount of carbon emission but also beneficial for those who do not have their own vehicles, such as a motorbike or car, buses and subway are a great choice if they have to commute daily.

In conclusion, for the reasons above, governments should pay attention to both improving roads and motorways and public transport systems due to their equally critical importance.