Some people think that it is necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. Others say that books, films, and the internet can be used as a source of information about different cultures. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion

People have different views about how to explore other cultures most effectively. While some people suppose that books, films, and the internet are good sources of cultural knowledge, I agree with the idea of traveling to countries to have a deeper feeling about their customs.

The means of media, to a certain extent, play a significant role in providing information about the other countries to people. For example, the children are taught geography at schools through textbooks to know about the location, language, and culture of each nation in the world. On social networks such as Facebook or Instagram, there appear several short videos to encourage tourism which introduce briefly the destination that attracting viewers by the natural beauty and local inhabitants’ life. Furthermore, the media seems to be the only way for the people who do not have enough money to travel around the world to be aware of the other cultures, hence behaving more appropriate when meeting foreigners.

However, I believe that staying at home cannot provide enough information if people want to acquire comprehensive and profound knowledge about a foreign country. Indeed, a number of linguistic and cultural professors have to live abroad for years in order to get acquainted with the environment and customs there. Although some people claim that traveling through television is as exciting as arriving in countries, it still does not bring delectation like when setting foot on those places. Many explorers, for instance, are willing to pay a great amount of money to live in the mountainous areas with aboriginals and go hunting with them, which is experiences that are hard to have twice

In conclusion, I strongly believe that if people love to discover a new culture, it is recommended to visit that country and immerse themselves in local people’s daily activities.