Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on the importance of classical literature for high school students. Some believe that reading classic novels is a time-consuming activity that does not benefit students at all. However, I partially disagree with this statement due to various reasons that will be mentioned here.

On the one hand, there some evidence of non-necessity of classical books. As the young students are mostly connected with a contemporary language, classical genres becoming old fashioned; due to this phenomenon new generation prefers to read modern books rather than classics. As an example, there are numerous modern writers namely, Asya Lavrovich, John Green whose books more popular than classical ones. Moreover, there are various subjects in school curriculum which are more important than classic literature. In other words nowadays students tend to be specialists of their field, that’s why they are not eager to read classical novels. As an example those who choose to be a doctor are supposed to study biology and chemistry wholeheartedly without procrastination in order to be an expert in the area of medicine, therefore, even reading classical books can be a procrastination.

On the flip side, classics highly important for proper formation of people as wise individuals. First of all, classic novels are written on the basis of real historical events that help us learn something by analyzing historical collapse or accidents. To clarify, they help to learn from the mistakes of others. For instance the book "Crime and Punishment" by Fyodor Dostoyevsky tell us about adverse consequences of rash decision. Besides, characters of the classical books can increase one`s thinking ability. Hence, those who read a lot encounter heroes of various characters while reading; and if they do not like some character, they try to destroy such a nature in themselves. In addition, those who read a lot are distinguished by their broad outlook.

In conclusion, despite the minor disadvantages of classical books, I think that these classic novels have beneficial formative influence.