Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries’

How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people

today?

It is true that joblessness is the huge concern for youth in today`s modernized world. However, I believe that now especially at a time of economic instability and social unrest, in addition to unemployment we are threatened by other, more globalized challenges, which we will discuss now.

On the one hand, due to the unprecedented increase in the unemployment rate, teenagers are likely to face huge problems. The biggest issue posed by joblessness is the rise in the crime rate among school-leavers. Owing to shortage of jobs, teenagers commit a crime in order to find money for their own subsistence. For instance, in the United State, the school dropouts commit approximately 75% of crimes. Furthermore, owing to joblessness, young, ambitious people migrate to western Europe because of career progression and job prospects. This phenomenon, exacerbating the problem for those remaining. As an example, young emigrants make up more than 10 percent of the overall 232 million international migrants, and, being the most mobile social group.

On the flip side, there are more enormous threats for adolescents. The most acute problem when it comes to teenagers is pathological state. In developing countries like India, Mexico, Reo an outbreak of coronavirus has caused countless youth deaths. For example, in Mexico, nearly one-fourth of the dead have been between 20 and 45. Besides, famine and malnutrition is the big concern for teenagers of some countries. Namely, Central African Republic, Zimbabwe, Haiti are most affected by hunger. It was reported that globally, there are 821.6 million people that are considered undernourished or starving.

To conclude, it seems logical to accept that joblessness is a major challenge for young people. Nonetheless, we cannot deny the fact that there are also numerous global challenges that are more urgent.