Many school children today take part in work experience sessions for short periods of time instead of attending school is this a positive or a negative development

Nowadays, the trend is becoming popular that schoolchildren are engaged in practice instead of lesson. In my opinion, there are both adverse and positive effects behind this phenomenon which we will discuss here.

On the one hand, there are undeniable disadvantages. First of all, these practice courses time consuming. In other words, practises eat up study time, therefore, youngsters will not be able to gain neither experience nor knowledge, because without sufficient knowledge about a certain area, it is impossible to gain experience by doing practice. For example, most Asian schools are systematized for learning without practice; hence, children with interest, completely immersed in study. Moreover, In order to take part in practice sessions students need to be educated and provided with sufficient knowledge. If they start practicing without a full stock of knowledge, this can lead to the fact that the children will lose interest in the future profession. As a result they will not study hard after praxis due to unwillingness.

On the flip side, there are various benefits of practical exposure. Firstly, just by practicing one’s problem-solving skills will be developed. As a result of practicing, people will quickly cope with problems. As an example, in daily life when faced with challenges individuals learn to solve problems. Besides, practicals will prepare them in advance for their future lives. Thus, by allowing children to work in temporary sessions, we can awaken in them a love for their future profession. For example young teacher cannot gain experience, however this is gradual process which can be evolved by practice.

In conclusion, I believe that practical training can be considered as a positive development. Nevertheless, there are disadvantages such as the loss of precious time and the lack of data about the field in which the practice has to be done, which can lead to aversion to the future profession.