Some people think that the media should not report details of crime to the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In this day and age, the question of whether the media should give details of crime to the public or keep it in secret has been drawing a great deal of public attention. While many people agree that the detailed information should be given apparently to the public, I lament that it is integral to conceal the information.

It is undeniable that publishing details can bring citizens plenty of benefits. First and foremost, inhabitants’ precious lives and valuable possessions can be kept safely. It can be explained that due to the availability of information, people's awareness of their surroundings can increase, so they can protect their properties by locking their door before going out, or restrain themselves not to go out alone at night. On top of that, the crime rate seems to soak once the details of criminal acts are published overwhelmingly. If a sophisticated crime is caught by a police officer, it can pose a threat to criminals, and also decline the intention of committing.

Despite all aforementioned information, it is better not to show details. As soon as the offences are broadcasted, it probably makes people nervous about their surroundings. They might not think there is a criminal in their space, so the government may be complained by citizens. Many people also question the security in their space and can make a decision to move out to another safer-place. Furthermore, detailed information can inspire others offenders, deterring them from making the same mistake. For instance, if a criminal was caught by leaving their finger print at the crime scene, the would-be criminal may wear hand gloves in order not to be caught by police officers. This can create more visible burdens on the government to solve near- future crimes by the criminal’s in-depth knowledge.

In conclusion, it causes more harm than good to show detailed information of any crime to publish.