Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, most countries show a great concern regarding space exploration. It is thought that the amount of money spent on developing technology for space exploration is unjustified. Nevertheless, there are more useful ways to spend this money. From my perspective, I am totally convinced by this statement.

To begin with, the most frequent factor to argue this statement is that space exploration is a waste of money. One example to demonstrate this view is that according to Euroconsult’s Government Space programs 2019 report, global government space budgets totalled $70.9 billion in 2018. Therefore, it is obvious that the amount of money being spent on space research is in the billions. However, this aspect of science has achieved extraordinary little except for a bit of improved technology which would probably have come about anyway by other means. As a result, investing in further developing technology is a waste of resources.

In addition, one explanation to support my point of view is that these days, there are many serious problems which need to be invested, especially healthcare system. In fact, the outbreak of the Coronavirus put the healthcare systems under the pressure with the large number of people infected with this kind of viruses. This is shown by the following example. CMS in the report illustrated that national healthcare spending of the US reached $4.01 trillion in 2020, which was more than the average among developed countries. Nonetheless, this country still holds the highest rank in the figure for people being positive with this type of virus. Hence, the amount of money spent on space exploration should be allocated for other important purposes.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the money invested on the development of space exploration is unwarranted. Besides, there are more essential things that money could be put towards such as healthcare system. Consequently, I wholly agree with the claim brought up.