Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have the freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are more and more houses which are specially designed for this modern society because of its developed functions. Some people believe that new houses should be constructed in the same style as other traditional ones in a locality, others argue that they should have the right to build their houses based on their favourite. I do agree with the former idea because of several reasons.

On the one hand, some people think that society should welcome change and allow citizens to build houses in modern styles. It is essential to respect their own decision since we are living in the 21st century, we can do things we would love to within the laws. Therefore, as citizens, they are free to design and construct their fashionable houses, which are evidence for their sophistication. Additionally, modern houses are far more affordable than traditional counterparts. Building materials like stones and wood are quite difficult and expensive to buy nowadays. In fact, not only building materials but also maintenance costs are definitely high. Consequently, to construct a modern style house is much easier and cheaper than the another.

On the other hand, there are strong arguments that new houses should adopt the architectural style of the local area. In terms of the tangible cultural heritage of a small town or a village, houses with traditional styles and characteristics appear as a strong sense of identity. Only traditional houses have a link to our roots since they represent our lifestyles, economic situation and also solidarity. From an architectural perspective, the mixing of modern and traditional buildings is an eyesore. The former is failed to blend in with the latter due to the lack of unity among each other and the beauty of the village also be affected severely. For example, Hoi An Ancient town in Vietnam is one of the traditional towns and it still keeps the old structure of houses since hundred years ago. Consequently, Hoi An is a great destination for tourism and architectural and historical studies as well.

From all the above-mentioned, although it is costly, citizens should respect the traditional aspect of a community in constructing houses. Tradition is an important factor in our lives, especially the next generation; therefore, it is worth preserving.