Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas while others think that people should have the freedom to build houses of their own styles Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is argued that new houses should be similar to the old ones in local areas. While Some people have the opposite opinion, I agree with this statement to some extent.

On the one hand, proponents of this topic have several reasons to oppose this idea. The first one is that individuals have their own rights to design and build their houses as their wishes if permitted regulations by local authorities. This is because people nowadays have different tastes in house design compared to their ancestors. Moreover, thanks to higher living standards these days, affluent people desire to settle down in a house with a modern design, which hardly maintains the traditional designs of the old houses. The decreased number of houses with traditional designs in the North West of Vietnam in which ethnic minorities live takes as a perfect example.

On the other hand, I believe the maintenance of the old styles in the newly built houses in indigenous places is more beneficial in fostering income diversity. With the synchronization of houses with the same old designs in local areas, people in such places can do business to make ends meet by selling traditional beverages, food, or souvenirs to visitors. Locals in Hoi An ancient town of Vietnam have successfully preserved its traditional buildings and built new houses strictly adhered to the old designs. As a result, this place has been well-known worldwide as one of the most attractive ancestral destinations, enabling locals to profit from the tourism industry.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that keeping new houses in a similar fashion to the other buildings in the area is more beneficial overall considering its advantages to locals.